South America Tours

Most Australians travelling to South America visit more than one country on their holiday, crossing borders to get a true taste for the diversity this continent has to offer.
 
Where to start? There are numerous gateways in South America, the most common for Australians being Santiago and Buenos Aires. From there it will depend on what your style of travel is as to where you want to go.
 
What’s it like?  It is impossible to sum up South America in brief, it is a continent like no other, offering a variety of incredulous terrains, a host of differing cultures, a fascinating and unique range of wildlife, a gastronomic cuisine, an intriguing history and a range of adventure-filled activities. From snow-capped mountains to turquoise lakes, stark arid deserts, rainforest, vast salt flats, pampas grasslands, glaciers, volcanoes, spectacular coastline and waterfalls, the landscapes of South America are breathtaking. In complete contrast are bustling and vibrant cities such as Buenos Aires, Rio de Janeiro, Santiago, Lima and Montevideo. Then there are fascinating colonial towns such as Cusco, Sucre, Quito, Cartagena and Colonia and the mining towns of Potosi and Ouro Preto. South America is steeped in history and culture and a South America tour could allow you to delve into the history of the Inca, Moche and Nazca civilisations or immerse yourself in the culture of the Quechua Indians or the Afro-Brazilian beat of Salvador. For food lovers, a gastronomic experience awaits, tempting you with mouth-watering Argentinian steaks or fresh seafood ceviche accompanied by a glass of fine Chilean or Argentinian wine. Put simply South America has it all, all you need to decide is what type of journey you are after, South America has it all.  
 
Getting there: For Australians visiting South America there are many ways to get there, the most popular is flying the southern route south via Auckland to Santiago/Buenos Aires. From the west there is also the option to go via Abu Dhabi in the middle east to Sao Paulo/Buenos Aires, or for those who want to do a bit of shopping on the way there are many options via Los Angeles in the USA and then dropping down into Lima or Quito It will depend on where you start and end your journey.
 
More information: Below we have shown you just a fraction of the options available for multi-country travel. Browse to get an idea of where you want to travel.
 
Still wondering? Contact us:  You are definitely better off giving us a call or dropping us a line and letting us do the hard work for you. 
 
 

The entire journey with Chimu Adventures was amazing! Our guides were great. The hotels were perfect. I couldn't think of going with any other travel company! - Ashharman

Read Reviews (Avg 4.8 ★)
 
0

Featured South America Trips & Deals

POPULAR  From 2,439

Discover the highlights of two of South America's most amazing cities, Buenos Aires and Rio de Janeiro, including a trip to Iguazu Falls.

GREAT PRICE  From 4,359

Marvel at the cascading beauty of Iguazu Falls, the famous sites of Rio de Janeiro and hidden histories of Cusco on this express tour of South America.

South America Tours

12 NIGHTS From 8,855

Take the opportunity to explore Chile, the country of contrasts. Start in the Atacama Desert and finish in Patagonia to witness the glaciers & ice fields.

6 NIGHTS From 3,885

Discover some of Patagonia’s most beautiful features on this 7-day journey, including the Perito Moreno Glacier and Torres del Paine National Park in Chile.

8 NIGHTS From 2,625

From Lake Titicaca, to Cusco and Machu Picchu, this nine-day trip is packed full of excitement allowing you see all the best that Peru has to offer.

26 NIGHTS From 12,045

This 27 day journey ticks off the 'Big Five' bucket list items: Buenos Aires, Iguazu falls, Rio de Janeiro, Machu Picchu, the Amazon plus the Galapagos Islands.

11 NIGHTS From 4,359

Marvel at the cascading beauty of Iguazu Falls, the famous sites of Rio de Janeiro and hidden histories of Cusco on this express tour of South America.

19 NIGHTS From 6,989

Representing excellent value for money, this trip provides an excellent insight into the continent.

17 NIGHTS From 6,949

Experience the mystical glaciers, sparkling lakes, wildlife & breath-taking scenery of both the Chilean & Argentinean Patagonia.

19 NIGHTS From 8,955

Visit Salta in Argentina & Salar de Uyuni in Bolivia - the real heart of South America & some of the most spectacular scenery in this great continent.

Destinations

Places to Visit

Machu Picchu

Machu Picchu is a 15th century Inca site, located 2,430m above sea level on a mountain ridge above the Sacred Valley.

Patagonia

With highlights such as the Valdez Peninsular, Moreno Glacier, Tierra Del Fuego, Torres Del Paine, El Chaten and the stunning Fjords of Chile, Patagonia is the perfect place to get up close and personal with nature.

Galapagos Islands

Many of the Galapagos’s unique animals exist in no other place on Earth. The Galapagos truly are a wonder that should not be missed.

Pantanal

For those who wish to see some South American wildlife and get close to nature, a trip to Brazil would not be complete without a stay in the Pantanal.

Articles On South America

Best Things To Do in South and Central America – NOVEMBER Guide

Posted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018

As the southern summer season takes hold of a great part of the South America, now is the time to explore the more remote regions of Patagonia, the normally crowded big-name attractions in Peru and Bolivia, as well as the hot-spot of Colombia, where rains subside. November is a brilliant month to travel almost anywhere in Latin America, as the …

READ MORE

Visit the Pantanal and Meet Some of the World’s Strangest Creatures

Posted on Sun, 14 Oct 2018

You know you’re approaching an otherworldly place when the street sign tells you to watch out for an animal that seems to have been inspired by a science-fiction book. Sure, it kind of looks like a mouse…but how big would it have to be to warrant a SIGN?! Remote and pristine, the Pantanal was established as a UNESCO World Heritage …

READ MORE

Latin America Travel – Best Souvenirs That Won’t End Up in a Drawer

Posted on Fri, 12 Oct 2018

We admit that when travelling, sometimes, it is simply easier to dedicate just a couple of hours of our last day to hitting a gargantuan tourist market and filling up a small suitcase full of fridge magnets, key-chains and snow-globes that glow in the dark. Because, really, who wants to waste time and money buying stuff for friends back home …

READ MORE

Last Minute Bookings To Antarctica. Is It Possible?

Posted on Wed, 10 Oct 2018

Antarctica is a beautiful and majestic place and a must do on many people’s bucket list, but what options are there if you feel you may have missed out because of common issues such as lack of time, slight forgetfulness or low to high volumes of procrastination? We are here to let you know that there are still options for …

READ MORE

Crystal Endeavor- Where Luxury Meets Expedition

Posted on Tue, 09 Oct 2018

Many ships have braved the seas of the Polar regions and many have been specially designed for the distinct conditions, however, the Crystal Endeavor reaches new heights in the world of Polar vessels, being ‘the first purpose-built mega yacht that is Polar Code compliant’. The Crystal Endeavor has challenged and introduced exceptional new standards in expedition cruising and absolute luxury. …

READ MORE

Heads Up! Your Wildlife Guide to the Andes Mountains

Posted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018

Your comprehensive guide to South America’s Andes Mountains – one mesmerizing wildlife treat at a time South America’s most defining topographical feature is home to some of its most iconic creatures. Although many first-time visitors simply include some section of the Andes Mountain range in their itinerary for the sole purpose of being overawed by a wall of sky-high peaks …

READ MORE

National Geographic’s World’s Best Eco-lodges – Latin America Cleans Up!

Posted on Thu, 04 Oct 2018

National Geographic has just released its collection of World’s Best Eco-lodges and we certainly weren’t surprised to find that, out of the 44 worldwide contenders, Latin America is home to 12.  We’ve long-since known that Latin America offers a wealth of options for those who love exploring and love Mother Nature, in equal measure, and have been dedicated to offering …

READ MORE

Wildlife Watching in Brazil – Amazon VS the Pantanal

Posted on Thu, 04 Oct 2018

One amazing country – two magnificent wildlife powerhouses. Which one is best to visit? Wildlife-enthusiasts looking for an exceptional journey in Brazil will undoubtedly come to the same decision crossroads: should they visit the largest rainforest on earth…or the largest wetlands? Whilst the Amazon Rainforest may be the most famous and celebrated wildlife-watching destination in Brazil, the Pantanal is, by …

READ MORE

Why Travelling With a Purpose is the Best Way to Travel

Posted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018

There are more options for meaningful travel, out there, than humans on our planet and that’s because purpose, by its very definition, is an immensely personal perspective. Whether you travel to volunteer or learn a new language or to satisfy a particular personal challenge (hike a mountain in every country, watch a soccer match in every city or hike through …

READ MORE

The Most Sensational Hiking Trails in Chile (That Aren’t The W-Trek)

Posted on Tue, 02 Oct 2018

You’re an avid hiker and you already know that the W-trek is Chile’s #1 must-do trail. Time to discover what other sensational hiking trails the country has to offer. Chile’s recent announcement of the opening of a brand-new hiking trail, which effectively links three of its most impressive routes in Patagonia to form one colossal, 2800km odyssey, will certainly help …

READ MORE

South America Reviews

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spectacular South America Brazil Argentina and Peru were all different but all spectacular.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What Wonderful trip!!!!!!!!!!! this trip exceeded our expect ions! arrangements were spot on and the guides were fantastic!!! and Iam smiling as I write this review as a flood of memories will last a life time. Many thanks Rose
Date published: 2015-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Trip, very different from our other trips. Great trip but quite exhausting when added to our trip to Antarctica. Knowing how to speak more Spanish would have been good but Brazilians speak their own dialect of Portugese so that would not have been a help there. Chimu organised transfers and small tours so that was all well done. We thought this was the best way to do a trip around countries that speak a language we do not understand and we were correct. Peru was actually the most interesting and different of the four countries we visited. Flying LAN all the way around was great, easy to organize flights and luggage limits.
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A wonderful adventure My husband and I have recently returned from South America ,visiting Argentina,Brazil,Peru and Chile Congratulations to Chimu Adventures,everything ran very smoothly. The guides were excellent and very knowledgeable The hotels were all very comfortable with great breakfasts. The countries were all different with interesting histories and some amazing scenery We have some great memories and photos to look back on now .Thanks Chimu
Date published: 2014-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Variety plus Love Sth America. Trekking in Patagonia was fabulous and wish I'd done more and had less travel here and there. The wide open spaces inspire and the beech forest and snowy mountains add awe. Iguazu Falls are truly amazing but should have left them to another trip as lots of travelling. The magazine left for me in Buenos Aires was great and had so much really good info - wish I'd had it to book stuff before I'd left home.
Date published: 2014-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent South American experience. We had an outstanding 6 week personalised trip to South America. The highlights were numerous and absolutely everything went to plan. We always felt safe - I particularly commend Kieron from the Mooloolaba Chimu office for his work, Larry in Cusco, Rudi in La Paz and Cinthia and Jose for the trip through Southern Bolivia. I would thoroughly recommend South America as a destination and Chimu as an agent. Every hotel, guide, location and experience were terrific - we learnt so much about the history, politics and culture of the 5 countries we visited.
Date published: 2017-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't have been better! Our entire trip was perfect for us. Chimu did a fabulous job of meeting us at airports and organising group tours for the 6 of us everywhere!
Date published: 2015-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from incredible holiday! The itinerary was faultless,all the guides knowledgeable and helpful, the accommodation impeccable. The whole trip was unforgettable.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of a kind trip Antarctica as a destination is unique, The ship was just the right size for us at 120 people, no queues, got to know a lot of people and crew and staff got to know their passengers. The organisation was excellent; if weather didn't permit a landing there was always a Plan B. We had 2 landings per day and often also had the opportunity to go out in a Zodiac. The whole trip was fantastic from start to finish.
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beyond Belief Everything was better than we expected. Great Guides and Hotels. They were very professional and welcoming.
Date published: 2017-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from South America multi country All good except a few niggles with tours not turning up at the designated time. Al countries well organised, Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, Peru, the exception was Ecuador where we were not provided a schedule and had to ask 3 times otherwise we would not have known what was happening. Also despite several requests for flight details for Galapagos and Amazon trips, Chimu didn't provide. So we could not reserve flights seats. This meant we were all separated on the flight and this was far from satisfactory when travelling with a child. This was not the actual reps fault (Gina, who was outstanding) as it appears Latin trails HQ had simply forgotten. The hotel chosen in Ecuador was also poor, so much so we had to book our our hotel at extra cost.
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trip of a life-time! Our group of 5 couples did a multiple country itinerary, custom made for our chosen destinations. It went faultlessly due to the very professional work done by Australian and South American staff of Chimu. Our contact, Ben Alexander, in the Sunshine Coast office, was very professional, personable and met all our requests and itinerary changes. The experiences of this trip will remain with us forever!
Date published: 2014-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The most memorable and best-organised trip ever! Not a single moment of doubt in a very complicated and busy five weeks of travel.
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peru - amazing time in amazing place Argentina was an interesting country...and Iguazu Falls were spectacular! But we were unprepared for the beauty, friendliness and 'whole package' that is Peru! Incredible food, interesting history and proud culture, natural beauty and unique flora & fauna. Easily a 'return destination'. Chimu staff made the trip easy and the connections seamless...and they are easily the most flexible and accommodating tourist agency I have ever used. Special kudos to Kieron in Aust and both Johcelyn and Janet in Peru...and the staff of Casa Republica in Lima. Oh, and don't believe all you read about the safety aspects of South America...just apply the rules of personal awareness and common sense you'd use in any large city and you will be absolutely fine.
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spectacular Holiday! We traveled as a family of four to Argentina, Brazil, Peru and Chile for a period of four weeks. From start to finish, every aspect of the superb itinerary went to plan. All our guides , accommodation, tours, and cultural events were high quality and very entertaining. Have to say that the itinerary that was put together for us did not disappoint in any way, with our highlight being our time in Peru, namely in Cusco and Machu Picchu, and an amazing four days in Posada Amazonas. A truly memorable and probably our best family holiday to date.
Date published: 2017-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exciting South America, from Manaus in the Amazon, Rio, Iguazu Falls to Buones Aires proved to be as exiting as we hoped for and Chimu Adventures made our whole trip smooth sailing. The guides and drivers at all the tours were very informative, courteous and punctual and transfers were right on time and there to meet us at each destination which took a lot of worry out of our travels.
Date published: 2014-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from South America 2014-2015 The trip was AMAZING!!!. Our first time in South America. The planned 7 weeks was not long enough. The places, and tours, we visited in the various countries were spectacular. All of our guides were knowledgeable, helpful and very tolerant of our lack of Spanish. We visited Peru, Chile, Argentina, Brazil, and Cuba. From the time we got on the plane in Melbourne, the trip went flawlessly. All the transportation was synchronised like clockwork, with the longest planned airport wait of 4 hours, in what was calculated to be one week, in total, worth of travel days for the holiday ( big holiday big continent). We only had one significant plane delay. Our accommodation was as requested, and very satisfactory. Had a fantastic time, you just have to be there!!!
Date published: 2015-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from South American Express A bit like the Ronseal advert " it does exactly what it says on the tin " ,and much more. This was one of the best holidays we have ever had , so well organised ,great hotels and everyone from guides to drivers were very good .Much better then we ever imagined it would be . Fantastic , thanks to Claire @ Chimu for helping us have our holiday of a lifetime.
Date published: 2015-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ecuador and Peru Aspects of the trip ranged from surprising, interesting, intriguing and a bit dull. Galápagos was great as the interaction with the animals was terrific. Loved all the activities and all connections worked. Ecuador train trip went really well. City tours were eye openers to give an insight to culture of local area. The vegetation of western Peru was unexpected, the condors were great and Chivay interesting. Long bus trips made more interesting by guides explaining surroundings etc. Lake Titicaca and Macchu Picchu both fabulous.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing trip! Tambopata, Inca Trail, Galapagos The itinerary went very smoothly, met at each point by friendly and helpful reps. Incredible experiences everywhere! Only reason for not giving 5 stars is that our guide on the Inca Trail was only sometimes with us during the daily hiking, and not previously being a student of the Incas i think we could have had better explanations to help us understand.
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well looked after by Chimu We went to Argentina, Brazil, Peru and Chile. The itinerary was personally tailored for us by our consultant, Mariana C, after patiently working with us. When we arrived at each destination, there was always someone at the exit waiting for us. In Peru, Chimu representatives even turned up with the driver to greet us and personally explained the arrangement to us. Most tours were in small groups if not private tours just for us. We were very happy with Chimu. One thing for improvement though is that when we left each destination, we were always picked up so to arrive at the airport some three hours before the flight. While I appreciated the importance of arriving at airports early, three hours plus were a bit excessive and at the expense of sightseeing time.
Date published: 2015-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic trip, with the big things ticked off The trip was awesome, with only a couple of very minor things that didn't go straight forward, but the service to correct them was above and beyond. With not much time lots was able to be crammed in, yet we still had the ability to do a little bit of our own thing. All the hotels were comfortable and much appreciated after a full day exploring.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Holiday! I travelled to Argentina and Brazil. The tour was excellent. It was very well organised from start to finish. Drivers were very punctual, guides very informative, accommodation of an excellent standard and content of tour very interesting. Excellent support from Chimu personnel in both Argentina and Brazil offices.
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We were more than happy with Chimu Adventures Our expectations of the countries we visited were more than met and the guided tours were great. We did find we preferred the private tours better than the multi language tours. Particularly, impressed with the way we were met at airports and transfers to and from hotels.
Date published: 2014-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great trip to Peru and Buenos Aires I was initially a bit anxious about our Chimu experience as the travel staff in Australia don't go that extra mile for you.And on speaking to other Chimu traveller it's the same story. You get a good agent and and they leave and forget to pass your info on or once you've paid you're forgotten. :( However, We couldn't have been happier with the service we had in Peru. The itinerary ran smoothly, the guides were very caring and had amazing knowledge. This was our first shared and organised itinerary so very happy with the whole experience. Sadly the great guides etc didn't follow us to Buenos Aires. We weren't very impressed with our BA guide, hotel Dazzler Recoleta was average and hotel staff were super busy and not particularly helpful. Chimu DO Peru wonderfully but not to BA.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I want to go back....NOW!!! We did the usual Tourist hot spots in Peru, including a stay in the Refugio Amazonas, Rio and Buenos Aires. Was amazed at the history around The Inca period and were glad to visit Rio and Buenos Aires, but the absolute beauty of Iguazu Falls was amazing. And then we went to Chile, well our eyes were in for an absolute feast of natural beauty, from the north Atacama Desert, San Pedro to Puerto Varas and the lakes, to The Patagonia and Las Torres Del Paine National Park, Calafate(Argentina), and then on to the Stella Australis cruise from Punta Arenas to Ushuaia. With lot's inbetween. All I can say is WOW WOW WOW, would go back to Chile especially today. THANK YOU Chimu for what was an absolutely fantastic trip, everything was brilliant, hotels were all great, transfers were efficient. We only had 1 hic-cup with 1 of the tours that was resolved. And a couple of little things that were always sorted quickly and always to our satisfaction. Would HIGHLY recommend CHIMU ADVENTURES to anyone wanting to travel to South America.
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The 3 Countries My friend and I visited Santiago, Brazil and Argentina en route to Antarctica. Chimu booked all our transfers, accommodation and tours in these countries except for Rio where we made our own arrangements. Apart from a couple of late pickups for our tours everything went well and we saw the main sites in and around Santiago and Buenos Aires. The accommodation was well suited to our needs and we felt very comfortable in the countries we visited because we knew we had the support of Chimu Adventures.
Date published: 2016-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great way to see highlights of South America. Our Itinerary went very smoothly. We were met in each of the countries by the Chimu guides who arranged drivers to and from the airports, welcomed us with itineraries and gave us sound advice. We needed a Doctor in Puno in Peru and our guide arranged for a doctor to visit the hotel and was on 24 hour call during our stay.The entire trip was very well organised and we found it very comforting to know a Chimu guide was just a phone call away. Well done Chimu we thoroughly enjoyed the trip.
Date published: 2015-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 countries, 5 stars! We loved every bit of our Chimu tour. From Chile to Colombia and everywhere in between. The trip was faultless. I have travelled all over the world and never had a 'perfect' holiday. This one certainly was. Full credit to Chimu for the amazing experience we just had. I have already reccomended you to three friends who are considering travelling to South America. Your staff in country should be applauded and your knowledge staff (Craig) are first class. Thanks for the memories!
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Precision planned and organized Including airline flights and all tours, trips, airport pickups and transfers were all perfect.
Date published: 2016-11-18
  • y_2018, m_10, d_17, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_145
  • loc_en_AU, sid_south-america-multi-country, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 5.68ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Country Information

How to travel to South America

Posted on Thu, 25 Aug 2016

Unsurprisingly it’s something I’m often asked – where should I go and how should I travel to South America? I guess the answer can be as simple or as complicated as you’d like. What I mean by that is that people like to approach their travel planning in different ways and so I’m going to provide a range of answers …

READ MORE

12 Dazzling UNESCO-listed Attractions in South America

Posted on Thu, 18 Aug 2016

The Top UNESCO-listed Attractions in South America are a spellbinding collection of historical, cultural and natural wonders. Combined, they represent all that is so revered about this continent: from the amazing wilderness brimming with unique wildlife to all the ancient cultures that have shaped human evolution on our planet. Include a few or all on your next South America journey …

READ MORE

The Rich and Quirky History of South America

Posted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016

South America has a lot in common with Europe, which dates back to the colonial era in the 15th century. There are some great stories and there is so much to explore in South America, while many people don’t know too much about the history. Read some of the quirky stories Chad Carey (Co-founder of Chimu Adventures) tells about the …

READ MORE

Tip-Top Seasonal Dressing Guide for South America

Posted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016

Packing the right clothing for a cross-continental jaunt through South America is arguably one of the most daunting tasks you’ll face. That’s why we’ve compiled this handy Seasonal Dressing Guide for South America. Because figuring out what you should pack, what you should ditch, and what you should definitely not leave home without, can be mighty confusing to the uninitiated. Whether …

READ MORE

Must see destinations in South America

Posted on Fri, 20 May 2016

It’s hard to cover every nook and cranny when you are travelling to one of the largest continents on the planet, that’s why we’ve put together a list of must see destinations in South America. A vast place with ecosystems ranging from the driest desert in the world, to snow-capped peaks to the might Amazon river. Must see destinations in …

READ MORE

Wildlife in South America

Posted on Wed, 11 May 2016

The wildlife in South America is arguably the most varied on the entire planet. If not for culture and historical highlights alone, then at the very least for breathtaking nature and an array of utterly unique wildlife. The land of glaciers and tropical rainforests, vertiginous mountains and outstanding beaches, is home to a kaleidoscope of endemic wildlife. Most of it …

READ MORE

Top 10 Restaurants in South America

Posted on Fri, 23 Oct 2015

South America has plenty of culinary delights to offer diners everywhere. Looking for the best restaurants? Here’s our top 10: (not in any order) 1. D.O.M. Photocredit: The World’s 50 Best Restaurants

READ MORE

Frequently Asked Questions

What money do they use in South America ?

Each country has its own currency with US Dollars being readily exchangeable throughout most of South America and accepted in many large hotels, top-end restaurants, supermarkets and major stores. Argentina - Argentinian Peso (ARS) Bolivia - Boliviano (BOB) Brazil - Brazilian Real (BRL) Chile - Chilean Peso (CLP) Colombia - Colombian Peso (COP) Ecuador - US Dollar (USD) French Guiana - Euro (EUR) Guyana - Guyana Dollar (GYD) Peru - Peruvian Nuevo Sol (PEN) Suriname - Suriname Dollar (SRD) Uruguay - Uruguayan Peso (UYU) Venezuela - Bolivar (VEF) Please check websites such as www.oanda.com or www.xe.com for up to date exchange rates prior to your departure.

What language do they speak in South America?

Portuguese and Spanish are the primary languages of South America. The majority of South Americans speak Portuguese but most South American countries are Spanish-speaking. English is spoken in Guyana, Dutch and Indonesian in Suriname and French in French Guiana.

What is the religion of South Americans?

Roman Catholicism is the dominant religion in South America. In the Andes and lowland South America, shamanism and animism are common.

Do I need to be fit to go to South America ?

The level of fitness needed will depend on the South America tour that you choose to take in terms of countries to be visited and the types of activities to be included in your itinerary. Many parts of South America are at altitudes above 2000 metres, where there is a risk of altitude sickness. Altitude sickness effects everyone differently and usually has nothing to do with your general fitness level, but we highly recommend acclimatizing at altitude before taking strenuous treks or walks.

Is it safe to travel in South America?

Most South American countries have now recognized that tourism plays an important part in their economies and governments have taken great steps in the last few years to change South America’s poor security image. You will find a strong police presence in the towns, cities and sites most frequently visited by tourists. To minimise security risks we recommend the following: - do not show any outward signs of wealth or wear expensive jewellery - keep your valuables in your hotel in safety deposit boxes - keep any valuables that you must carry with you hidden, as pickpockets can be present in crowded areas and around tourist areas - use only taxis with official identification - avoid going on your own to remote areas/ruins where tourists would not be expected to go - always keep your day pack and camera close to you and never leave them unattended

Do I need a visa to travel to South America ?

Visas are required by some nationalities for travel to certain South American countries. Please refer to the detailed information on the specific countries that you plan to travel through for visa requirements.

How long do I need to travel to South America ?

You could spend anything from a few days to several months travelling in South America, depending on whether you plan to focus on just one country, or maybe just one experience such as the Inca Trail. Or whether you plan to encompass several countries in your South America travels. Chimu Adventures offers itineraries to suit every time frame.

How much should I budget for daily in South America?

South America can vary greatly in terms of prices in each country. Our South America tours include breakfast daily and many other meals may also be included in your itinerary. As a rough guide for additional spending money based on having moderately-priced lunches and dinners and buying a few souvenirs at local markets, we suggest the following budgets: 15-25 USD per day - Bolivia 20-30 USD per day - Peru, Ecuador, Colombia 25-35 USD per day - Argentina, Uruguay, Venezuela 30-40 USD per day - Chile 35-45 USD per day - Brazil 30-50 USD per day - The Guianas

Do I need to get vaccinations for South America?

We recommend that you visit your doctor or a traveller’s medical centre for current information specific to those countries that you will be travelling through. As a general guide we recommend the following: - Yellow Fever – Especially for jungle areas - Hepatitis – Both A and B (twinrix) - Typhoid - Diphtheria - Cholera - Rabies - Tetanus

What kind of power adaptor plug do I need for South America ?

Most countries in South America use the European style outlet which contains 110v. Please visit the below link for more information on each country: http://electricaloutlet.org/

What should I pack to travel in South America?

What you need to pack will depend on when and where you plan on travelling and on the activities that you plan to include whilst on your South America tour. The following should act as a useful checklist of essential items: • Passport, photocopy of passport & spare passport photos • Travel Insurance documents • Air tickets and itinerary • Foreign Currency (US$) and/or debit/credit cards, traveller’s cheques • Money belt • Small daypack • Basic first aid kit • High UVA sun block • Sunglasses & sunhat • Mosquito spray & insect repellent • Comfortable walking shoes/boots • Sandals • Long sleeve tops and trousers • Light-weight clothing • Warm clothing (depending on itinerary and time of year) • Camera with spare battery and memory cards • Security code padlock • Adaptor • Small torch